top of page

ED 307- 21st Century Skills Module

This has been an interesting week learning about the 21st Century Skills. I work at a Community College and learning that 82.7 percent of employers reported that students from the two year college are deficient in professionalism, and 82 percent report that students from two year college are deficient in oral communication was very alarming to me.

I am cheer coach at Southern Union and I work hard with my students to insure that when they leave Southern Union they are ready for the professional world. Attempting to teach them the correct way to meet a person in the workforce, how to conduct themselves on social media, and basic skills for obtaining a job. I like to teach them as much about leadership as possible. After reviewing this information I gave each of them an assignment this week. This assignment was related to cheer however they had to take the assignment and communicate the instructions to the other cheerleaders. I spoke with them in depth about how important it is to be able to communicate instructions to others especially if they plan to be in leadership roles. During this assignment they were required to create a combination of cheers for a half time performance, though the assignment was small I have found this year with my students that they have trouble putting material together and creating a plan. This was a great assignment for my students.

As I continue my job at Southern Union I will stay up to date with the things that are present in the P21 skills so that I can better help my students as they continue their college and work careers.

I have enjoyed the reading material on this subject.


01/19/2019



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page